Surroundings - excursions & activities

Berum is located in the north of East Frisia, framed by ancient mixed forests. Here you are in a particularly interesting area, because in the immediate vicinity you can discover the moor, the Geest, the marshland, but also the coast with dykes, sewage sites and ports.

A day trip to the different siblings, the East Frisian Islands, is a good idea. Long walks and bike rides in the forest, in the moor or on the nearby coast contribute to relaxation.

Not far from Berum, the moated castle Lütetsburg with its famous English Park awaits you: a jewel of romantic horticulture, with precious botanical rarities.

In the north there is a tea museum where you can learn surprising details about the love of the East Frisians for tea. Diagonally opposite is the Ludgerikirche with the famous Arp Schnitger organ. In summer she invites you to an organ concert every Wednesday. The art gallery in Emden houses a world-famous collection of expressionist and modern works. But you will also long remember the pictures of your hike around the “Eternal Sea”, the largest raised bog lake in Germany.

There is a riding stable in the neighboring village of Westerende. The climatic health resort of Hage with indoor and outdoor pools, sauna, tennis courts, gastronomic offers and shops is within walking distance. The weekly market with regional products and freshly caught sea fish takes place here every Wednesday. The idyllic small towns of Norden, Emden and Aurich are within easy reach and are ideal for excursions by car or bus. You can also discover East Frisia as part of an excursion.

There is a bicycle rental shop by the castle, opposite is a bus stop that provides connections to the north (train station), Norddeich (to the island ferries) or to Emden and Aurich. There is still a lot to be mentioned. We would be happy to give you further tips for planning your individual vacation.

rental

Kayak and bike rentals for the canals of the north

Hage paddle and pedal station
At boat harbor 1
26524 Hage
Mobile: 0162 – 1759530

https://www.bootshafen-hage.de

Bicycle rental two-wheel chest

Monday – Friday
9 a.m. – 1 p.m. & 2.30 p.m. – 6 p.m.

Saturday
9 a.m. – 1 p.m.

Main street 37
26524 Hage
04931 7033
04931 76236
info@zweirad-brust.de
https://www.zweirad-brust.de

Excursions in the area

Eternal sea

With around 91 hectares (0.91 km²) of water, the Eternal Sea is the largest raised bog lake in Germany. Its surface is about 8.5 m above sea level. The lake is bordered by an extensive complex of unused areas, which still show the actual high moor profile and, together with the water, form the 1180 hectare nature reserve Ewiges Meer and the surrounding area. The nature reserve is located in the border area of the districts of Wittmund and Aurich near the village of Eversmeer in East Frisia. It belongs to the Nenndorfer high moor on the apex of the Oldenburg-East Frisian Geestrücken and represents the core zone of the 33 square kilometer moor complex Great Moor near Aurich. Since the beginning of the 1980s there has been a 1.8 kilometer long boardwalk on the northern edge, which was supplemented by a moor nature trail in 2000. The south of the area is now inaccessible to visitors. The state moor administration has been implementing measures since 1979 to raise the water level in the area and thus to improve the conditions for moor renaturation.

The Meyer shipyard in Papenburg

The Meyer shipyard in Papenburg
Visit us and experience first hand how modern shipbuilding works.
Visits to the shipyard are possible every day; This is a worthwhile excursion destination for groups and individual travelers.

For more information, please contact Papenburg-Touristik.

Contact: Meyer Werft
Papenburg Tourismus GmbH
Ölmühlenweg (in the “Papenburger Zeitspeicher”)
26871 Papenburg

Tel .: 04961/83960
Fax: 04961/839696

www.papenburg-tourismus.de
info@papenburg-tourismus.de

Museum railway coastal railway East Friesland

The museum railway maintains a railway museum in the engine shed of the former depot in Norden and is also the operator of the railway line between Norden and Dornum, the former coastal railway.

A trip on this route is worthwhile in every season and is a really nice experience. All work is done on a voluntary basis by the members. The goals of the association are the preservation and operation of the remaining section of the coastal railway, the collection and preservation of historical railway objects, as well as to familiarize its members and the public with the history, development and transport significance of the coastal and island railways in East Frisia.

Office:
Museum Railway Coast Railway Ostfriesland eV
At the embankment 4
26506 north

Telephone: 04931/169030
Fax: 04931/169065
mko@mkoev.de

Cultural offers & museums

Cultural offers & museums

The art gallery in Emden was founded in 1986 by the patronage of Henri Nannen, the founder and long-time editor-in-chief of STERN, and his wife Eske. Nannen not only gave his collection with a focus on classical modernism to the foundation, but also used all of his personal fortune to build the art gallery in Emden. A good ten years later, the top-class art donation from the Munich gallery owner Otto van de Loo gave the impetus to expand the art gallery. She congenially expanded the collection of the house in the period after 1945.

The program of four to five exhibitions per year takes on the characteristics of this in-house art collection. An average of 60 to 70,000 art lovers visit the museum every year and enjoy the green East Frisia with its charming North Sea islands as an attractive destination for excursions and short vacations. Exhibitions with a particularly large radius, which are held roughly every two years, can reach up to 120,000 visitors even in the cold season.

The art gallery is particularly well known for its extensive range of art education programs.

Under the heading Art Active, children and adults will find a wealth of both theoretical and artistic-practical programs to participate in.

kunsthalle@kunsthalle-emden.de

Art gallery Emden
Henri and Eske Nannen Foundation and Otto van de Loo donation
Behind the frame 13, 26721 Emden

Info phone +49 (0) 49 21/97 500 (announcement)
Telephone +49 (0) 49 21/97 50 50
Fax +49 (0) 49 21/97 50 55

Fehn- und Schiffahrtsmuseum Rhauderfehn, Westrhauderfehn

The Fehn and Maritime Museum is located in an Art Nouveau villa directly on the Fehn route in the center of Westrhauderfehn. The tjalk “Engelina” is in the canal in front of it. The carrier is the Heimatverein Overledingerland eV Fehnkultur, shipbuilding, and ship travel are the main departments. Museum guide – tea room – museum shop and clay slide show (also in Dutch).

Telephone: 04952 952708
info@museum-rhauderfehn.de
https://fehn-schiffahrtsmuseum.de

Address:
Rajen 5
26817 Westrhauderfehn

Opening hours:
Oct-Dec Wed-Sun 10 a.m.-5 p.m., May-Sept. Tue-Sun 10 am-5pm

Agricultural Workers Museum Suurhusen

The Rheiderland local history museum shows in 14 sections on the history of the region from archeology, agriculture, handicrafts, church history and living culture to brickworks, how the Rheiderland peninsula has developed over 3000 years.

Telephone: 04951 1828
heimatmuseum-rheiderland@t-online.de
https://weener.de/freizeit/heimatmuseum/

Address:
New street
26826 Weener

Opening hours:
Mar-Oct: Tue, Sat, Sun 3 p.m. – 6 p.m.
Guided tours and East Frisian tea table by appointment outside of the opening times

Rhauderfehn local history museum, Weener

Handicraft museum in the Pewsum mill: The handicraft museum shows the old handicrafts – the dairy industry, blacksmiths, cartwright, house slaughter, mom and pop shops, housekeeping, old typewriters, mill technology and much more.

Telephone: 04923 7432
info@heimatverein-krummhoern.de
https://heimatverein-krummhoern.de

Address:
Manningastrasse 13-14
26736 Krummhörn-Pewsum

Opening hours:
May 1st-31st Oct Mon and Wed v. 10-12: 30 and 3 p.m. – 5 p.m. Sat. and Sun 3 p.m. – 5 p.m.
Guided tours by appointment

Handicraft museum in the Pewsumer Mühle

Handicraft museum in the Pewsum mill: The handicraft museum shows the old handicrafts – the dairy industry, blacksmiths, cartwright, house slaughter, mom and pop shops, housekeeping, old typewriters, mill technology and much more.

Telephone: 04923 7432
info@heimatverein-krummhoern.de
https://heimatverein-krummhoern.de

Address:
Manningastrasse 13-14
26736 Krummhörn-Pewsum

Opening hours:
May 1st-31st Oct Mon and Wed v. 10-12: 30 and 3 p.m. – 5 p.m. Sat. and Sun 3 p.m. – 5 p.m.
Guided tours by appointment

Pewsum Castle Museum

Lively, interactive, colorful! Experience the whole world of tea.

Based on the East Frisian tea culture, the museum offers fascinating insights into the cultivation areas, the processing and production of the famous East Frisian mixture to the decors of the East Frisian tea sets. From the historical long-distance trade through the Asian steppes and the oceans, past the Cape of Good Hope, to today’s tea customs all over the world.

Telephone: 04931 12100
info@teemuseum.de
https://teemuseum.de

Address:
At the market 36
26506 north

Opening hours:
May – Oct. Tue – Sun 10 a.m. – 5 p.m.
July and August daily 10 am to 5 pm; May-Oct. Tue-Sun 10 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Further opening times on the homepage.

East Frisian Tea Museum North

Lively, interactive, colorful! Experience the whole world of tea.

Based on the East Frisian tea culture, the museum offers fascinating insights into the cultivation areas, the processing and production of the famous East Frisian mixture to the decors of the East Frisian tea sets. From the historical long-distance trade through the Asian steppes and the oceans, past the Cape of Good Hope, to today’s tea customs all over the world.

Telephone: 04931 12100
info@teemuseum.de
https://teemuseum.de

Address:
At the market 36
26506 north

Opening hours:
May – Oct. Tue – Sun 10 a.m. – 5 p.m.
July and August daily 10 am to 5 pm; May-Oct. Tue-Sun 10 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Further opening times on the homepage.

Museum of Life by the Sea in Esen

Two trading houses from the 18th century in the heart of the old town of Leer house the local history museum of the old trading and port city.

The focus of the exhibition is on East Frisian living culture and local history, but prehistory and early history are also discussed. For example, you will find a hand loom from 1734, a goldsmith’s workshop and a shop for “Colonial goods and ship’s goods” from the 18th century. An attraction on the subject of river and coastal shipping is the last East Frisian Tjalk “GRETJE”, built on a Fehn in 1906. Models from Spitzmutte to Schonerbrigg can be seen around them in the blue ship hall. The exhibition is complemented by a gallery with models of all ships of the Leeraner shipowners.

The artist Ernst Petrich from Leer is honored in the red Petrich room.

Phone: 0491 2019
Fax: 0491 9995754
info@heimatmuseum-leer.de
https://heimatmuseum-leer.de

Address:
Neue Straße 12-14
26789 Empty

Opening hours:
Winter opening times: 01.01.2019 – 23.03.2019
Saturday, Sunday and Monday only after registration
Summer opening times from March 24, 2019:
Tuesday to Sunday
from 11:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Closed on Mondays!

Guided tours for groups are possible at any time after registering on 0491/2019.

August Gottschalk House in Esens

The Jewish Museum – memorial and exhibition on the recent history of East Frisian Jews – has found a good place in the former community building of the Esensian Jews, next to the remains of the synagogue that was destroyed by the Nazis in 1938. In addition to historical documentation, objects relating to religious life are shown on the ground floor of the house. A special feature of the house is the preserved ritual bath – the mikvah. NEW since 2014: After the classroom, the former living room and the mikvah can now also be seen in a new look.

Phone: 04971 5232
info@august-gottschalk-haus.de
https://august-gottschalk-haus.de

Address:
Burgstrasse 8th
26427 Esens

German Sielhafenmuseum Carolinensiel

In the past, the sluice ports on the tide-dependent North Sea coast were lively trading centers from the Netherlands to Denmark. Three historic houses of the museum are located at the harbor with its old flat-bottomed ships.

Yesterday comes alive in exhibitions and events: sailing ships, hard fishing life, fighting with the “Blanken Hans” and much more.

Telephone: 04464 86930
Fax: 04464 869329
info@dshm.de
https://dshm.de

Address:
Pumphuses
26409 Carolinensiel

Opening hours:
End of March – beginning of November and during the winter holidays daily 10 am-6pm

East Frisian Agricultural Museum Camping

From muscle-powered to fully automated agriculture. Experience the technical revolution in agriculture in East Frisia between 1850-1950. In four buildings you will find an extensive collection on the agricultural working year and life in the country. Our little visitors can actively experience the museum with our museum sheep Schkoppi Schkopp: hands-on stations, old children’s games, museum rallies, search games, detective games and of course a tractor for climbing. Browse through our small museum shop “1900” and discover enamel and porcelain tableware, toys and books from around 1900.

Telephone: 04927 939523 or 04923 8059950
Fax: 04923 805827
info@olmc.de
https://olmc.de

Address:
Krummhörner country road
26736 Krummhörn-Camping

Opening hours:
May-Oct. Tue-Fri 10-17; Sat and Sun 10 am-1pm
For groups we have after tel. Registration open all year round from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.!

Mill museum, Stiftsmühle Aurich

The largest grain windmill in East Frisia is a landmark of the city of Aurich. The Galerie-Holländermühle is 29.95 m high, is fully functional and, as a specialized mill museum, provides visitors with insights into the history of windmills on five floors: interesting facts about the path from grain to bread, insights into the work and the profession of Müller’s and the integration of the mill into the social environment. The gallery offers a wonderful overview of the city.

Telephone: 04941 4464
verkehrsverein@aurich.de
https://www.aurich.de/kultur-freizeit/museen/stiftsmuehle.html

Address:
Oldersumer Str. 28
26603 Aurich

Opening times: Apr.-Oct. daily except Mondays from 12 p.m. to 4 p.m.

Guided tours: Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays at 3 p.m., for groups at any time by appointment.

Historical museum Aurich

The museum is located in the old chancellery, a monument to the former residence. With archaeological finds, such as Europe’s oldest plow from Walle near Aurich, with heirlooms from the castle, valuable clothes and everyday objects, East Frisian culture and history are shown here. The tour tells about chiefs and princes from citizens under Napoleon’s brother “Koning Lodewijk” from Holland to the German Empire, about Jewish life and the hardship in the world wars.

Opening times: Tue-Sun 11 am-5pm (groups by appointment also outside these hours) Special exhibitions, audio-slide shows, museum educational programs, guided tours

Telephone: 04941 123600
Fax: 04941 123650
hist-museum@stadt.aurich.de
https://museum-aurich.de

Address:
Burgstrasse 25
26603 Aurich